A Day in the Life

So what is my typical day here in Korea like, you ask? Happy to oblige. Here’s a rundown of my schedule.

6:00 a.m. – Alarm goes off. Hit the snooze button multiple times.

6:20 a.m. – Shower in my freezing bathroom. Get ready for the day. Eat breakfast. Check my social media and talk to people on the other side of the world. Turn on some TV Kdramas in the background for company.

7:45 a.m. – Leave for school on foot. The walk to my main school takes about 25-30 minutes; on Mon/Weds I can leave later because the smaller school is only 10 minutes away.

8:20 a.m. – School begins. I don’t have to do anything, but all the Korean homeroom teachers go to greet their classes or something like that. I’m still not exactly sure.

8:50 a.m.-12:20 p.m. – Classes. Each class is 45 minutes with a 10 minute break in between. I don’t always teach every class during this period of time. If I’m not teaching class, I’m at my desk working on lesson plans… and/or updating my blog. Like right now.

12:20-1:00 p.m. – Lunch break. Teachers eat in a separate room from the students. Lunch always includes rice and kimchi and some kind of soup, and usually a couple vegetable side dishes and a meat or fish. If it’s a special day, sometimes there are strawberries. Almost everything is spicy, and Koreans don’t drink anything during their meals (usually they have a cup of hot water after the meal is over), so thank goodness for rice to dull the burn.

1:10-3:45 p.m. – Classes. Again, I don’t always teach every class.

4:30 p.m. – I’m off the clock most days. Many teachers stay later than 4:30 to finish up their work. Sometimes I stay a little longer too. On Tuesdays I have my after school class, which goes until 5 p.m. Then I walk home.

5:00ish-11:00 p.m. – My free time. So far I haven’t been doing anything too exciting in the evenings; this time usually consists of me going to the store, eating dinner, and lesson planning. And of course, talking to anyone from home who’s awake and wants to talk. And then going to bed to start all over again the next day!

One thought on “A Day in the Life

Leave a Reply

