K-pop Artist of the Week: Orange Caramel

Group Name: Orange Caramel (오렌지 캬라멜)

Members: Raina, Nana, Lizzy

Company: Pledis Entertainment

Profile: Orange Caramel was formed in 2009 as a branch-off from a larger girl group. They’re less popular than some of the other K-pop girl groups, but their music videos are always very creative and their songs are catchy and fun. They’re my favorite girl group (truthfully, I do listen to more boy groups than girl groups, but I’m trying to be balanced here and show some of both).

Music Videos

“Bangkok City” (2011). Okay, so this video isn’t all that creative, but I love the song. Gets stuck in my head all the time.

“Lipstick” (2012). Oma oma!

“Catallena” (2014). Not their best song (in my opinion), but I love the music video on this one. You really need to watch the whole thing. The set and costumes are so much fun. I’m still not exactly sure what it’s supposed to mean, though. Elements of… piscine cannibalism?

Leave a Reply

