More happy things

It’s difficult to come up with a unique title for my posts sometimes when I just want to post another batch of kid quotes!

Some days, the kids keep me sane with their hilarious comments. Even if it’s their antics that are threatening my sanity in the first place.

*     *     *

Two of my rowdy 1st graders were play-slapping each other during class, and suddenly one of the boys said loudly, “Do not touch my body.”

This same boy later stood up from his group and came up to me, extending his arm to hold an imaginary microphone up to me. “Teacher, how about kimchi? How about Korean food? What is your favorite Korean food?” Apparently he’d decided it was time to conduct an interview. Never mind that they were supposed to be talking about suggesting solutions to problems using “How about…?” I mean, technically he was using the key expression, but he was using it in a different way. Sigh.

*     *     *

Again, we were talking about making suggestions using “How about…?” I told them to come up with a problem someone might have and then give a suggestion for fixing it. One group came up with the problem “I’m stressed.” One of the girls yelled, “How about hit sandbag?” (sandbag = their word for punching bag)

*     *     *

My co-teacher and I were walking on the school grounds and a couple girls passed us. One of them said “Hello Teacher,” and then (my co-teacher tells me) turned to her friend and said in Korean, “My pronunciation was so good!” hahaha.

*     *     *

My 3rd graders were playing a team game where they had to write the correct key expression on their mini whiteboards and hold them up at the same time. The problem/clue was “I haven’t finished studying for my test,” and the ‘correct’ response was supposed to be “Don’t give up! You can do it.” But one kid showed me his board, and he had written “You’ll have a bad grade.” I tried not to laugh because he was being sincere about it – and truthfully, his answer makes just as much sense (or more?) as saying “Don’t give up.”

*     *     *

My after school class was practicing giving advice, so each of them had to come up with a problem, write it down, then switch papers with someone else and give advice. One of my girls wrote, “I used a smartphone for 10 hours last Sunday.” (This was her actual problem. She really did use her smart phone for 10 hours to play Cookie Run, the smartphone app game that all the kids are addicted to.) The advice she received: “I think you should break your phone and don’t buy it again.” To which she responded, “Very good choice.”

In that same class, one of my kids insisted on giving the same piece of advice no matter what problem I presented him with:

“I lost my wallet.” – “I think you should take a rest.”

“I got into a car accident.” – “Maybe you should take a rest.”

“I haven’t finished my homework.” – “Why don’t you take a rest?”

Of course, he’s smart enough and high level enough to know how to give relevant advice for these problems; he was just being silly. (And honestly, it’s probably the advice all of us – both the students and myself – wanted to hear the most, because everyone is so tired this week because of midterms.)

Then, hilariously, the student he switched papers with had actually written the problem “I’m tired,” so his advice of “take a rest” actually applied. We both got a kick out of that.

Leave a Reply

