“Improbable beautiful and afraid of nothing”

I feel my boots
trying to leave the ground,
I feel my heart
pumping hard. I want

to think again of dangerous and noble things.
I want to be light and frolicsome.
I want to be improbable beautiful and afraid of nothing,
as though I had wings.

Breathtaking.

In spite of my love for reading and writing, I’m not a huge poetry person. I have a very few select poems that I really like and have a special connection with, and most of the rest I dismiss as too long, too wordy, too curt, too dark, too sappy, trying too hard – something prevents me from connecting with it. In my mind, a perfect poem should give you the richest, vividest, most moving images and feelings imaginable in the prettiest and smallest “bite” possible.

The stanzas I quoted above are from Starlings in Winter by Mary Oliver, which I stumbled upon today. I highly encourage you to read the whole poem here, as the whole thing is very beautiful. But those final two stanzas speak to me the most.

I want to think again of dangerous and noble things.

I want to be light and frolicsome.

I want to be improbable beautiful and afraid of nothing,

as though I had wings.

That is the beautiful thing that my heart wants to say about my current life philosophy, but I wasn’t clever or artistic enough to put it into such gorgeous words.

Improbable, beautiful, and afraid of nothing.

2 thoughts on ““Improbable beautiful and afraid of nothing”

  1. Pingback: Goodbyes and feeling human | Introvert in Korea

  2. Pingback: today is… | Introvert in Korea

Leave a Reply

