Quote of the Day

Always behave like a duck – keep calm and unruffled on the surface, but paddle like hell underneath.

Do you ever feel like that?

I know I do.

The paddling like hell part, I mean, not necessarily calm and unruffled.

P.S. I didn’t attribute that quote to anyone because it seems to have murky origins. A Google search gives partial credit to British actor Michael Caine (most recently in Kingsman and Interstellar), partial credit to a mysterious Jacob Braude, about whom nothing can be found, seemingly. He doesn’t even have a Wikipedia page. Who doesn’t have a Wikipedia page these days?!? Not even a stub??

These are the things I find out when I’m deskwarming while my kids take their final exams.

Anyway, there are several versions of the quote to be found online; I picked the wording I liked best. Actually, I think I would prefer “keep calm and unruffled on the surface, even if you’re paddling like hell underneath” – hopefully you’re not always feeling a bit flustered or frantic on the inside, but if and when you are, just act like you’ve got it under control.

Leave a Reply

