I’m alive!

Yes, I’m still alive, and no, I haven’t abandoned blogging. I spent the last two weeks traveling around Korea with my family, who came to visit. We went to Seoul and Busan, and they also came to Daegu for a few days.

Pictures to come. Maybe. Possibly. Potentially. Okay, probably not. If there’s one thing I’ve learned through this blogging experience, it’s that I suck at uploading pictures (and/or that WordPress has a crappy, clunky system for uploading pictures that makes me want to avoid doing so at all costs).

But anyway, here I am again, back in the office for one random day. Yesterday was my last official vacation day, and tomorrow all the schools are closing in observance of Korea’s Independence Day (August 15th), so I just have this one little day of deskwarming in between. School officially starts up again on Tuesday. Oh boy!

It’s always worse anticipating the return to the daily grind after a long hiatus from it. In your mind, it seems that the return will require such a colossal amount of effort and energy compared to the laziness of being on vacation. You remind yourself of all the tired and difficult days during the vast stretch (weeks, months) of pre-vacation work, and dread going through all that again – perhaps wondering how on earth you managed to survive it and still have energy left over. You completely forget, of course, all the rewarding parts of working that helped you get through.

Or is that just me?

Anyway, as the first day looms nearer and nearer, I have to keep reminding myself not to think about 6 lesson plans per week and after-school classes and Korean surprises and the delicate dance of co-teaching with new coworkers (an impossible dance in which at least one of the participants is bound to get his or her toes stepped on multiple times). Instead, I have to remember how at the end of every day, no matter what challenges I faced, I always walked home with at least one good memory of something a student said or did to make me smile, and that always kept me going.

To all my fellow teachers: here’s to the start of a fantastic 2nd semester! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

