O, Children

Not to be confused with the wonderful song of the same name by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – which, in case you’re wondering why it sounds familiar, was featured in the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 movie.

In a pretty infamous scene, I might add: the Harry and Hermione dance. Most HP fans hated it because it was not canon. Personally, I love that scene. I love JK Rowling and I love HP, but I highly disagree with the Harry-Ginny / Hermione-Ron pairings. Sorry to all you diehard Ron & Hermione shippers out there.

And completely aside from all that, the scene is beautiful in its own right. I love the atmosphere, the lighting, the music (of course), and the fact that they don’t have to speak a word yet manage to convey such strong emotion. It’s really lovely. It’s also a bit meta – we, the audience, experience a little interlude in the action and plot, just as Harry and Hermione experience an interlude from the stress, heartache, and exhaustion. A bright spot in the dreary hopelessness and fear.

The dancing scene. Image from http://clicks-clan.blogspot.kr/2015/01/film-review-harry-potter-and-deathly_31.html.

Anyway, my kids have been giving me plenty of laughs today. We’re doing an advice lesson for 1st grade, and they are getting quite creative with their advice. Here are some of the best.

Me: “When it’s good advice, you can say ‘OK, that’s a good idea!’ or ‘Thanks.’ But what can you say when it’s bad advice?”

Student: “Shut up!”

I suppose that’s a valid response. (No, he was not actually telling me to shut up.)

I was walking them through some examples of problems and advice so they could get the hang of it before creating their own problems and advice with a partner. Then this happened.

Me: “Here’s a problem: He says, ‘I have an English test tomorrow. I’m worried.’” (I showed them a picture of a stressed-out student who happened to have a very short buzz cut.)

Student: “You have no hair!”

Me: “Okay, but give him advice! Why don’t you…”

Student: “Why don’t you have hair?”

LOL. It’s even grammatically correct.

Another scenario:

Me: “Her problem is ‘My friend is angry at me.'”

Student: “Why don’t you hit her?”

In pairs, they would write a problem and then their partner would write some advice. These are my faves.

Problem: “I lost my sweetness.”

Advice: “EWWWWW.”

Problem: “I lost my beauty.”

Advice: “Don’t worry, I have it.”

Problem: “I’m too handsome.”

Advice: “Why don’t you look in the mirror?”

Problem: “I have no money.”

Advice: “Why don’t you steal your mom’s money?”

Problem: “(Name) is falling in love with me.”

Advice: “That’s not possible. Why don’t you go to the hospital?”

*Please note, the student giving the advice was the student named in the problem. Guess he wasn’t interested.

Problem: “I have no friends at school.”

Advice: “Me too.”

Problem: “I’m lost!”

Advice: “Why don’t you call your mommy?”

And the last one was when I asked them to stand and present their problems and advice.

Student (reading problem): “I’m (mumblemumble).”

Co-teacher (repeating in a louder voice for the class to hear): “I’m cute.”

Student: *horrified look* “Short! Teacher, I’m SHORT! Short!” (gesturing wildly)

He was evidently deeply insulted that my CT insinuated that he was cute.

My other highlight of the day was when I dropped by my co-teacher’s office on the 3rd graders’ floor. A few groups of 3rd graders were passing by, but they stopped when they saw me and cried, “Teacher! Hi! Long time no see! I miss you! How are you?” They took a minute of their break time to chat with me. Oh goodness, I miss those kids. Even though teaching them was like 10x more difficult than teaching 1st grade. I miss them.

Leave a Reply

