I’m not feeling risky

The original title was “This is risky business,” and I had typed quite a long post ranting about something that deeply irritates me: fans who excessively obsess over their fandom, and in particular, the fandom of a certain film “saga” set a long, long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, which is looking to make more money thrill their fans with a new installment which has just been released.

Then I had images of said fanatics fans reading my post and flying to Korea to bash in my door, crawl through my windows, and demand retribution for my blasphemy. So, I thought better of it. *delete, delete, delete*

(But I still had to get my little jab in there, didn’t I? Seriously though, some of my dearest friends are Star Warsians [[they don’t have a fandom name, do they?]] and I love them anyway.)

(And yes, I have watched all of the films, more than once. Initially I found the original trilogy mildly enjoyable, if a little cheesy and overdone. Over time, the overall campiness/the pedestal these films are placed on turned me off.)

Okay, for those of you who I haven’t alienated, here are some updates from today:

–I was getting ready for work at 7:55 a.m. when my doorbell rang, followed by a pounding and a Korean woman’s voice shouting. This would have been more disturbing had I not previously been visited by the “gas lady” – basically, in Korean apartments, every few months a woman will come and check your gas to make sure you don’t have any leaks. I don’t know why it’s always a woman. Anyway, I knew that’s who it probably was, so I let her in and continued applying mascara. Thankfully she didn’t come while I was in the shower, undressed, or otherwise looking like a drowned rat. The fact that there were dishes in my sink and a messy pile of blankets in the middle of my unmade bed cannot be helped. 8 a.m. on a Friday seems like a very bad time to make this sort of visit, but I suppose somebody has to be first on her list, and today it was me.

–Walked through the school gates and was greeted by a horde of my 2nd grade students, all shouting “Merry Christmas!” and handing out Choco Pies. One of them dashed up to give me one (“I love you!”). The P.E. teacher was dressed as Santa, which was freaking awesome. Even the scary Vice Principal looked all benevolent, watching the Choco Pie distribution. At any rate, it was a nice start to my Friday.

–Had a delightful time teaching the lowest level 2nd graders about Christmas traditions in America today. My CT for those classes is awesome, so she translated the parts they couldn’t understand. They were quite excited and interested to hear about things like putting out cookies and milk for Santa and decorating houses with lights.

At the start of one class, one of the boys made a great effort to speak a complete sentence to me (I can’t tell you how rare this is, especially for low level kids):

Me: “How are you today?”

Him: “Bad.”

Me: “Why?”

Him: “Today… is my… taekwondo test.”

He then told me (in Korean) that he’s a 2nd-degree black belt. I totally feel your pain, kid. I know that pre-testing nervousness all too well.

–During that same class, we played a picture memory game (they studied a Christmas-themed picture for 30 seconds, then the picture disappeared and I asked a question about it). They had to write their answers, and my CT and I gave them 1 point for a correct answer in Korean, 2 points for the answer in English.

The taekwondo boy was making such a great, painstaking effort to write his answers in English. At one point, the correct answer was “stocking” (as in what we hang over the fireplace). He wrote, “Star king.” I knew my CT wouldn’t let that pass for 2 points, so I whispered the correction to him. I feel it’s so important to encourage these kids to just try to write in English, even if they have no idea how to spell it. Isn’t that how we all learned as children? Trial and error.

And after class, even though he didn’t have the highest score, I gave him chocolate and wished him luck at his testing.

 

Leave a Reply

