almost Friday

It’s hotter than blazes in every classroom, the kids are exhausted, the teachers are on edge, and this Thursday seems to be a hallway of gloom, ever expanding out in front of us so we can never reach that pinprick of light at the end that is Friday.

If you’ve ever tried to teach something to a rock garden, then perhaps you know what my day was like. Flat, gray, emotionless and immovable students.

“Teacher, we are tired. Midterm test.”

Child, you act as though you’ve just been through a war.

On top of that, I didn’t wear tights today, and rather than wear my open-toed work slippers in bare feet, I decided to keep on the flats I walked to work in (shh… well, no one really cared actually) – but wow, I’d forgotten how uncomfortable normal shoes are. (Coming from spending most of my day barefoot as a taekwondo instructor, to now wearing comfy slippers at work every day, I’ve been totally spoiled.) So add throbbing feet to the mix.

Buuuut it’s not all bad.

I made my 2nd graders make newspaper stories this week (key expression: “Have you heard about ___?”). They were allowed to pick any topic they wanted. Here are some of my favorites.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And three groups decided to write about me. Aww.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 thoughts on “almost Friday

    • I’m not sure about “just as big,” but it’s definitely sparked a resurgence of interest in Ironman and “Captain” among my kids. (Which I appreciate solely for the ability to then use said characters’ images in my lessons to make the kids pay attention.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

